The five stages of grief are:

  • Denial
  • Anger
  • Bargaining
  • Despair
  • Acceptance

These stages are non-linear and anyone can experience one or all of them at anytime. It could be suddenly and long after you thought you’ve accepted the loss.

Grief can cause deep pain from intense feelings. Thoughts during this time should be judged carefully.

Grief is the natural reaction to loss. Grief is both a universal and a personal experience. Individual experiences of grief vary and are influenced by the nature of the loss. Experts advise those grieving to realize they can’t control the process and to prepare for varying stages of grief.

Relationship rupture can cause similar feelings of loss and grief that a death would cause.